CFHLA Awards $100,000 for 2017 Hospitality Student Scholarships

Inside Header Image

CFHLA Awards $100,000 for 2017 Hospitality Student Scholarships

Thirty-one UCF Rosen College of Hospitality Management students have additional funds to continue their education thanks to the Central Florida Hotel and Lodging Association (CFHLA).  On Wednesday, April 19, 2017, during the CFHLA membership luncheon at the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, CFHLA awarded nearly $100,000 in scholarships to the students.

While the majority of students received $1,000 scholarships, three recipients, Daniella Sauri, Ilana Harmon Sanchez and Caitlin Walsh received substantial endowments. In 2015, Daniella was the first winner of the Don & Lorraine Freeburg Foundation Full-Ride Scholarship, the amount $40,000. As a result, she received $10,000, the third installment of the four-year scholarship to Rosen College.  Ilana also received $10,000, the second installment to her four-year full ride scholarship. New to the Don & Lorraine Freeburg Foundation Full-Ride Scholarship is Caitlin Walsh. Currently a student at Dr. Phillips High School, Caitlin will be attending Rosen College in the fall on her full-ride scholarship of $40,000 over a four-year period.

(L-R) Dr. Abraham Pizam, Dean, UCF Rosen College of Hospitality Management and Richard Maladecki, President/CEO, CFHLA
(L-R) Danielle Sauri, Caitlin Walsh and Ilana Harmon Sanchez

Rosen College also received a check for $10,000 from CFHLA in support of the student lounge named in the organization’s honor which hosts critical lunch and learns and meet and greet events with hospitality industry leaders throughout the year.

CFHLA opens up applications for scholarships at the beginning of each year. Students must apply by the beginning of March and the scholarships are awarded in April for use the following academic year.

The 2017 CFHLA Scholarship winners are as follows:

  • Madison Arterburn
  • Kara Berces
  • Maya Betancourt
  • Jordan Brock
  • Ivonne Cisneros
  • Carlos Diaz
  • Sarah Diener
  • Gabriela Frias
  • Bridget Frost
  • Larkin Frost
  • Mahala Geronasso
  • Ilana Harmon Sanchez
  • Kelly Kearney
  • Sydney Linell
  • Nicole Magnelli
  • Shantell McFarlane
  • Gabby Morford
  • Maryam Oginni
  • Juan Ortiz-Cifuentes
  • Serena Paape
  • Katrina Palenzuela
  • Jackelyn Perez
  • Katherine Perez
  • Craig J. Rapp
  • Austin Rowe
  • Daniella Sauri
  • Katie Secord
  • Anita Smith
  • Matthew Temmer
  • Caitlin Walsh
  • Hannah Wismer
  • Mitchell Wisz

— (May 5, 2017)